Waiting

It’s been four months since I’ve been at site, and I’m surprised at how life here is so “normal.” I haven’t had any panicking thoughts (omg, what am I doing here?!), nor have I really faced serious harassment. All of my reservations about being at site (good site mates, cooperative counterparts, etc.) haven’t materialized yet. However, I tread cautiously with my work here, afraid that some minor thing will snowball and bam!… I’ve ET’d (early termination) and I’m sitting back home.

Everybody says that the greatest numbers of early terminations are  in the first three months. I’ve heard stories of volunteers arriving at site and packing up their bags within days. So I wait with abated breath until March 9th, when the three-month mark arrives. I know it’s ridiculous to think that I’ll be “safe” if I can survive three months…I mean, there are a fair number of people that ET after a year. But it’s mostly a mental thing for me.

Don’t get me wrong, there are definitely things that frustrate me here. The awkward host family, the obnoxious nature of students at school, and the general feeling that I’m not really making any impact on the way students learn English or how teachers learn innovative teaching methodologies. But I try not to dwell on these things,  in the hope that change comes slowly. Also, there are much worse things that can make service unbearable, so I’m  pretty lucky that these are the worst of my frustrations.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Waiting

  1. Rich says:

    Yo man, you actually made it, you’re in the Peace Corps! I had a fit of insomnia and went off to catch up on all of my tea blog reading and suddenly wondered about what happened to you and why you hadn’t updated your tea blog. Now I know…. Azerbaijan, interesting. When I was just a nominee and not an invitee, my most likely destination would have been Sub-Saharan Africa. With what was happening around that time, I’m actually quite relieved (in hindsight) that I things worked out the way they did. Sounds like you’re having interesting experiences abroad, though. With the political instability that has spread across Islamic Africa and the middle east, any anxiety about changes where you are?

    Take care,
    Rich

Leave a Reply

